TOWN OF SEABROOK ISLAND

Public Safety Committee Regular Meeting January 18, 2022 – 10:00 AM

Virtual Meeting Hosted via Zoom Live Streamed on YouTube



MINUTES

Members Present: Dan Kortvelesy Ed Maher Frank Farfone Art Jones Virginia Lark Asbelle Members Absent: None

Guests Present: Scott Cave Barry Goldstein

Chairman Dan Kortvelesy called the meeting to order at 10:02 AM. Chairman Dan Kortvelesy confirmed that the requirements of the Freedom of Information Act were fulfilled, and the meeting agenda was properly posted.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

<u>Regular Meeting: 10/11/2021</u>: Ed Maher made a comment to revise a word in the 10/11/2021 minutes. Ed Maher made a motion to approve the REVISED minutes from the meeting of 10/11/2021. Art Jones seconded the motion. The motion was <u>APPROVED</u> by a vote of 3 in favor, to 0 opposed with 2 abstentions.

OLD BUSINESS ITEMS

1. No Old Business

NEW BUSINESS ITEMS

1. <u>Election of Vice Chair</u>: Ed Maher volunteered to be vice-chair of the PSC. No discussion:

Frank Farfone made a motion to approve Ed Maher as vice-chair of the PSC. Virginia Lark Asbelle seconded the motion. The motion was <u>APPROVED</u> by a vote of 5 IN FAVOR to 0 OPPOSED.

2. <u>Election of Secreatary:</u> No members volunteered to be Secretary of the PSC. The chair will be responsible for the secretary duties.

ITEMS FOR INFORMATION / DISCUSSION

- **1.** <u>Hurricane Exercise Report</u>: Scott Cave lead a discussion of the most recent Hurricane Exercise Report. Future activity needed was discussed. No motion(s) were made.
- 2. <u>Disaster Recovery Council (DRC)</u>: Scott Cave lead a discussion of the next DRC meeting. The agenda for that meeting was discussed. No motion(s) were made.
- **3.** <u>Additional Public Safety Concerns:</u> Dan Kortvelesy lead a discussion of future topics for future PSC meetings and other public safety topics. No motion(s) were made.

There being no further business, Ed Maher made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Virginia Lark Asbelle seconded the motion. The motion was **<u>APPROVED</u>** by a vote of 5 IN FAVOR to 0 OPPOSED, and the meeting was adjourned at 10:46 AM.

Minutes Approved: February 15, 2022

Received by: *Katharine* E. *Watkins* Town Clerk/Treasurer