TOWN OF SEABROOK ISLAND

Public Safety Committee Regular Meeting July 19, 2023 – 10:00 AM

Meeting held at SI Town Hall Live Streamed on YouTube



MINUTES

Members Present: Dan Kortvelesy Ed Maher Virginia Lark Asbelle Frank Farfone John Kinne

Members Absent: None

Guests Present: Katharine Watkins, Robin Ochoa, Heather Paton, SIPOA Ex. Dir.; Robert Meyer

Chairman Dan Kortvelesy called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM. Chairman Dan Kortvelesy confirmed that the requirements of the Freedom of Information Act were fulfilled, and the meeting agenda was properly posted.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

 <u>Regular Meeting: 5/16/2023</u>: Frank Farfone made a motion to approve the minutes from the meeting of 2/21/2022. Ed Maher seconded the motion. The motion was <u>APPROVED</u> by a vote of 5 in favor, to 0 opposed.

OLD BUSINESS ITEMS

1. None

NEW BUSINESS ITEMS

- <u>Review of Current Public Safety Activities.</u> Alligator attack, SIPOA proposal for a unified policy, Fireworks debrief,
 - Information about public safety incidents (break-in).
- 2. <u>Storm Clean-up Estimate.</u>
- 3. <u>Storm evacuation issues.</u>
- 4. DRC Meeting Debrief.

- 5. Future meeting items.
- 6. <u>CERT proposal approved.</u>
- 7. <u>Electric Vehicle information.</u>

ITEMS FOR INFORMATION / DISCUSSION

- 1. <u>Public Comment</u>: Review of citizen comments
- 2. <u>Future Meetings</u>: The August 2023 meeting is scheduled for the 15th.
- 3. Additional Public Safety Concerns: None

There being no further business, Ed Maher made a motion to adjourn the meeting. John Kinne seconded the motion. The motion was <u>APPROVED</u> by a vote of 5 IN FAVOR to 0 OPPOSED, and the meeting was adjourned at 11:57 AM.

Minutes Approved: